Building a favorable environment for the people of West Africa, based on a universal approach to human rights

date Published: 04/03/2024

Decades of experience have shown that social facilitators, such as legislators and religious leaders, who contribute to a rights-based approach and a protective, supportive environment, play their part in reducing vulnerability to HIV. They support efforts to ensure access to HIV prevention, treatment and care services for those most at risk, and enable affected communities to participate in the planning and implementation of effective interventions. The media have also played a crucial role in the response to the HIV epidemic, influencing populations in both positive and negative ways. Other social facilitators, such as local opinion leaders, traditional chiefs and other allies in the HIV response, have had a considerable impact and need not only to be re-engaged for some, but genuinely reintegrated for those who have been insufficiently involved in national and/or regional arrangements.

In collaboration with FHI 360, funded by USAID through the Key Populations Investment Fund (KPIF) and as part of the Meeting targets and Achieving Epidemic Control (EpiC) project, the CSIH-WCA and its host ENDA Santé coordinated and deployed technical assistance in six countries: Burkina Faso, Ghana, Liberia, Mali, Senegal and Togo.

The partnership has helped to develop the regional advocacy capacities of civil society organizations, in favor of stronger commitment and leadership in national dialogues to improve HIV prevention and care policies and services, through the mobilization of various social facilitators. 

Under the leadership of its national partners in Ghana, Liberia and Togo, the CSIH-WCA organized three national follow-up workshops to the regional Rethinking the Response to HIV meeting held in Abidjan in 2021, bringing together key stakeholders in the response. In the same countries, national training sessions on Human Rights and HIV targeted journalists, media and media organizations.

In the same spirit of re-engaging and reintegrating social facilitators, workshops were held in these countries with traditional chiefs, justice officials and parliamentarians. 

The webinars and various national workshops were a step forward, following on from the strategic meetings in Dakar, Praia and Abidjan, in bringing together the direct and indirect players in the response to reintegrate them into the relevant HIV response strategies.

Thanks to this partnership, CSIH-WCA has organized regional webinars on the theme of community-based HIV monitoring, providing a forum for sharing the diverse experiences of civil society organizations in the West and Central Africa (WCA) region and beyond.

Share

Construire un environnement favorable aux populations d’Afrique de l’Ouest, basé sur un approche universelle des droits de l’Homme

date Publié le 04/03/2024

Des décennies d’expérience ont montré que les facilitateurs sociaux, tels que les législateurs et les chefs religieux, qui contribuent à une approche fondée sur les droits et à un environnement protecteur et favorable, jouent leur partition dans la réduction de la vulnérabilité au VIH. En effet, ils soutiennnent les efforts permettant de garantir l’accès aux services de prévention, de traitement et de soins du VIH aux personnes les plus exposées et permettent aux communautés touchées de participer à la planification et à la mise en œuvre d’interventions efficaces. Les médias ont également joué un rôle crucial dans la réponse à l’épidémie à VIH, en influençant de manière de manière positive ou négative, les populations. D’autres facilitateurs sociaux, tels que les leaders d’opinion locaux, les chefs traditionnels et d’autres alliés de la réponse au VIH, ont eu un impact considérable et nécessitent non seulement d’être réengagés pour certains, mais véritablement réintégrés pour ceux qui ont été insuffisamment impliqués dans les dispositifs nationaux et/ou régionaux.

En collaboration avec FHI 360, sur financement de l’USAID, à travers le Key Populations Investment Fund (KPIF) et dans le cadre du projet Meeting targets and Achieving Epidemic Control (EpiC), le CSIH-WCA et son hôte ENDA Santé, ont assuré la coordination et le déploiement d’une assistance technique dans six pays : Burkina Faso, Ghana, Liberia, Mali, Sénégal et Togo.

Le partenariat a permis de développer les capacités régionales de plaidoyer des organisations de la société civile, en faveur d’un engagement et d’un leadership renforcé dans les dialogues nationaux  afin  d’améliorer les politiques et les services de prévention et de prise en charge du VIH, à travers à la mobilisation de différents facilitateurs sociaux. 

Sous le leadership de ses partenaires nationaux au Ghana, au Libéria et au Togo, le CSIH-WCA a organisé trois ateliers nationaux de suivi de la réunion régionale Repenser la riposte au VIH qui s’est tenue à Abidjan en 2021, réunissant les principales parties prenantes de la riposte. Dans ces mêmes pays, des formations nationales sur Droits humains et VIH ont ciblé les journalistes, les médias et les organes de presse.

Dans le même esprit de réengagement et de réintégration des facilitateurs sociaux, des ateliers avec les chefs traditionnels, les acteurs de la justice et les parlementaires se sont tenus dans ces pays. 

Les webinaires et les divers ateliers nationaux ont constitué un pas en avant, après les réunions stratégiques de Dakar, Praia et Abidjan, en rassemblant les acteurs directs et indirects de la riposte pour les réintégrer dans les stratégies pertinentes de réponse au VIH.

Grâce à ce partenariat, le CSIH-WCA a organisé des webinaires régionaux sur le thème du suivi communautaire du VIH qui ont servi de cadre au partage de diverses expériences d’organisations de la société civile dans la région de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre (AOC) et au-delà.

Partager